All posts by Joel Coltharp

Moon City Press AWP Reading

If you’re attending the AWP Conference in San Antonio this coming week, don’t miss the Moon City Press offsite reading on Wednesday, March 4, from 8 to 10 p.m. at Southtown 101. The reading will feature Kim Magowan, Amanda Marbais, Phong Nguyen, Michelle Ross, and Pablo Piñero Stillmann.

We hope to see you there!

Pablo Piñero Stillmann Wins The 2019 Moon City Short Fiction Award

The editors of Moon City Press would like to congratulate Pablo Piñero Stillmann of Mexico City, Mexico, for being chosen as winner of the 2019 Moon City Short Fiction Award for his collection, Our Brains and the Brains of Miniature Sharks. The author holds an MFA in creative writing from Indiana University. He’s also been the recipient of Mexico’s two top grants for young writers: The Foundation for Mexican Literature (f,l,m) and The National Fund for Culture and Arts (FONCA). His fiction, nonfiction and poetry have appeared in, among other journals, Ninth Letter, Bennington ReviewThe Normal School, The Summerset ReviewThe Rumpus, and Moon City Review. His debut novel, Temblador, was published in 2014 by Conaculta.

The finalists and runners-up of the 2019 competition are as follows:

Andrew Bertaina
Angela Buck
Timothy DeLizza
Emily Doak
JoeAnn Hart
Bradford Kammin: RUNNER-UP
Nathan Oates: RUNNER-UP
Jenn Stroud Rossmann
Marvin Shackelford
Rob McClure Smith

Our Brains and the Brains of Miniature Sharks will be published in 2020 by MCP, and its author will receive the $1,000 prize upon publication.

Entries for the 2020 Moon City Short Fiction Award are still being accepted through December 15.

Moon City’s editors would like to thank everyone who entered this contest for helping to make it so competitive, so great. We received so many fantastic entries, we only wish we could publish more of them alongside this winning book.

Presenting The Cover For Moon City Review 2020

We so love the cover of our next issue, Moon City Review 2020! The art is by Missouri State University’s own Jordan Seyer and is designed by the brilliant Charli Barnes. This issue (so far) features work by writers such as Sarah Browning, John Gallaher, Jennifer Howard, Gary Leising, Kim Magowan, John McNally, Jessica Mehta, Michelle Ross, Rebecca Schumejda, Jennifer Wortman, and lots of other talented folks. Debuting at the Association of Writers & Writing Programs conference in San Antonio, then everywhere else right after!

Katelyn Grisham Is New Reviews Editor For Moon City Review

The editors of Moon City Press and Moon City Review are happy to announce that, after a three-year hiatus, we are rededicating ourselves to publishing regular reviews of contemporary books, focusing on recent releases of poetry, fiction, creative nonfiction, and graphic narrative from small/independent/university presses.

To head this operation, we’ve taken on recent staff member and Missouri State University grad Katelyn Grisham as official Reviews Editor. Katelyn will be acquiring books for review, searching out reviewers, setting a schedule, and editing the content.

If you would like to see our guidelines or submit a review, please use our Submittable portal:

If you have a new book to review or are interested in becoming a reviewer for MCR, contact Katelyn at

Moon City Review 2019

Contributors include Whitney Collins, Ian Denning, Dana Diehl, Michelle Donahue, Michelle Gaffney, Maggie Graber, Brianna McNish, Loria Mendoza, Scarlett Peterson, Alyssa Proujansky, Lana Spendl, Allison Wyss, Allyson Young, and many others.

On Sale For $12.71

Moon City Review 2018

Contributors include Alyse Bensel, Roy Bentley, Debra Kang Dean, Susan Frith, Ronald Koertge, Gary Leising, George Looney, Wendy Oleson, Simon Perchik, Leslie Pietrzyk, Ron Riekki, Lucas Southworth, Gabriel Welsch, Francine Witte, and many others.


Moon City Review 2016

Contributors include Tricia Asklar, B.J. Best, Sara Browning, Jim Daniels, Nandini Dhar, Sean Thomas Dougherty, Laura Hendrix Ezell, Jeannine Hall Gailey, Mark Irwin, Sandra Marchetti, Lee Ann Roripaugh, and William Trowbridge.